Celebrating 10 years of Integrated Pairs

by Team BV

Sunday 14th January saw thirty-six Pairs teams head to Berwick Bowling Club for the 10th running of the Annual Integrated Pairs event.

The field included teams from all over Victorian, with some entrants travelling from as far north as Echuca and Numurkah, through to Colac in the west and Korumburra in South Gippsland.

This wonderful event sees bowlers classified with a disability, be it Para-Intellectual, Para-Vision or Para-Physical, play as Skip to their teammate throughout the day.

2024 Berwick Integrated Pairs Medallists celebrate their success at the medal presentation.

Teams played four games of ten ends in perfect bowls conditions, and after it was all said and done, three undefeated teams remained. Following on from the previous nine editions which resulted in a new winner each year, the 10th was no different, with the team of Tim Connolly (Skip) and Bill Murnane (both of Brunswick Bowling Club) claiming their first Integrated Pairs title. In second place on the same number of ends won and just 4 shots behind, was the team of Rob Ruffle (Skip – Heathmont) and Rob Huddle (Albert Park), and in third place, Graeme Smith (Skip – West Rosebud) and Phil Brown (Rye). A big thank you to the team at Berwick Bowling Club for their support in hosting the event and providing a fantastic venue for many years.

2024 Berwick Integrated Pairs Winners: Bill Murnane & Tim Connolly
Runners Up: Rob Huddle & Rob Ruffle
3rd Place: Graeme Smith & Phil Brown

Winners: Tim Connolly (S) (Brunswick), Bill Murnane (Brunswick)
Runners-Up: Rob Ruffle (S) (Heathmont), Rob Huddle (Albert Park)
3rd Place: Graeme Smith (S) (West Rosebud), Phil Brown (Rye)
Best 1st Game Winners: Ross Higgins (Numurkah), Brian Hall (Shepparton Park)
Best 2nd Game Winners: Steven Moore (Diamond Creek), Ben Simmons (Yarra Glen)
Best 3rd Game Winners: Bruce Hoskin (Belmont), Robert Simpson (Belmont)
Best 4th Game Winners: Michael Clark (Ballarat North), Joe Capuano (Ballarat North)

Best 1st Game: Brian Hall & Ross Higgins
Best 2nd Game: Ben Simmons & Steven Moore
Best 3rd Game: Bob Simpson & Bruce Hoskin
Best 4th Game: Michael Clark & Joe Capuano
2013Phineas Meere – Malvern BCPaul Holtschke – Malvern BC
2014David Warner – Berwick BCCliff Fothergill – Berwick BC
2015Steven Nelson – Colac Lake BCMaurie Oates – Colac Lake BC
2016Luke Wayth – Queenscliff BCRichie McGovern – Queenscliff BC
2017Tony Scott – Racecourse BCLisa Critten – Lake Boga BC
2018Ross Higgins – Shepparton Park BCMax Goldsmith – Mulgrave Country Club
2019Jason Barrett – Mitcham BCJim Corcoran – Mitcham BC
2020Phillip Mahoney – Clayton BCAndrew Anagnostopolous – Clayton BC
2023Ben Peachey – Korumburra BCTrevor Nelson – Colac Lake BC
2024Tim Connolly – BrunswickBill Murnane – Brunswick

Note – event not played in 2021 and 2022 due to COVID-19.