It’s a three-peat – Armed Vics win nationals

by Team BV

In the end, it was a win achieved with a flourish. An exclamation mark.
Victoria’s third successive National Bowlers Arm Championship victory in Adelaide was set up with a big day one, continued without relenting through day two and sealed by lunchtime on day three.
The Armed Vics, infused with new faces, started well in the fours, with six good wins and two narrow losses to start the 2015 tournament on slow-running greens at Tranmere Bowling Club.
Victoria then grabbed another six wins in the pairs on the morning of day two, with newcomers Lee Wesley (Romsey) and Ann Power (City of Frankston) prominent with a big win over their NSW opponents.
Mathematical probability was the only danger by the end of day two, and with three singles wins and victories in all four triples matches early on day three, the Armed Vics had sealed victory and a third successive Australian championship.
A clean sweep of the singles ensured the day with a flourish and an armful of trophies – Wesley given a shot in the afternoon singles and winning his match to cap a memorable nationals debut.
“Back to back, great. Three-peat? Sensational,” Bowls Victoria Chief Executive Graeme Bridge says of the Armed Vics’ win.
“Our congratulations and credit to the whole team. Everyone played their part.”
For 2016, Victoria’s task will get tougher. Queensland will enter the national titles to make it a four-sided competition, and are likely to host the nationals on debut next year.
For now, though, it’s well deserved celebration as the Armed Vics maintain their ascendancy in Australian arm bowling.
Armed Vics 2015 national champions: Barry Anset (Bendigo), Ray Arnold (Dromana), Barry Atkins (Lancefield), Ray Bezett (Benalla), Stephen Coles (North Balwyn), Neil Crisp (Warrnambool), Doug Corrigan (Ringwood), Graham Edwards (Swan Hill), Peter Gribbin (Pakenham), Terry Gilmore (Eaglehawk), Phil Gude (Dromana), Malcolm Finch (Golden Square), Tony Long (St Leonard’s), Arthur Parker (Main Ridge), Ann Power (City of Frankston), Adele Ryan (Ocean Grove), Bob Ormesher (City of Frankston), Lee Wesley (Romsey).
Day one wrap-up
2015-16 preview
Bowlers Arm Tournament Schedule for 2015-16