

MINUTES OF THE ELEVENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BOWLS VICTORIA

HELD THURSDAY, 29 OCTOBER 2020 VIA ZOOM

The meeting commenced at 1:02pm, with President Barbara Gilbert in the Chair.

1. Introduction and Welcome

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed and thanked everyone for their attendance and after some brief housekeeping in relation to this being the first AGM online (i.e. how to ask questions, how to move/second motions, how to vote using the system generated polling etc), then introduced Bowls Victoria President, Barbara Gilbert.

Attendees listed below in alphabetical order of clubs:

Club Name	Delegate 1	Delegate 2	Attendance
Albert Park	Graeme McDonald	Simon Strickland	
Alphington	Dianne McKee	John Grattidge	
Balnarring			
Beaumaris	Lizzie Boucher		
Bendigo VRI	Marj Gorrie		
Bentleigh	Kevin Bosward		
Brunswick	Cam Foley	Cam Foley Malcolm Moore	
Bundoora RSL	Peter Russell	John Roberts	
Camperdown	John Molan		
Caulfield Park Alma	Pat Milan		
Chirnside Park	nside Park Bruce Aumann Alice		
City of Echuca	Heather Trotter		
Clayton			
Club Sunbury	unbury Lee Wesley		
Corinella	Jacqui Carter	John Carter	
Cranbourne RSL	Sarah Brobyn		
Croydon	Ray Purdey	Pam Arnot	
Dandenong Club	Dandenong Club Rob Sharpe		
Deer Park	Robert Aitken		
Doncaster	Garry Baird	Peter Letos	
Edithvale	Barbara Sharp		
Essendon	endon Brian Howard		
Ferntree Gully	ully Merilyn Selvey Bob Selvey		
Fitzroy Victoria	Michael Pattinson	n Ken Docking	

Geelong Bowls Region	Jim Millar		
Gippsland Bowls Region			
Glen Waverley	Clare Rynberk		
Glen Eira McKinnon	Brian Rosengarten		
Greensborough	Richard Lovell		
Greythorn	Warren Collins	Jim Helm	
Hampton	Jo Prendergast	Peter Connell	
Hampton RSL	Annie Westhead		
Heatherdale			
Hurstbridge	Fabian Lovrecich		
Lalor	Andy Bobanac	Donald Connors	Robert Cooper
Macedon Ranges	Ian Guymer		Troport Gooper
MCC	Ian McKay	Mandy Matheson	
Middle Park	Ken Warburton	Widney Widerieson	
Mitcham	James Corcoran		
Mordialloc	Phil Hardy		
	Phil Stirling	Bev Sorensen	Steve Hallam
Montmorency Moorabbin	John Smith	bev Sorensen	Steve Hallalli
		David Daard	
Mt Waverley	Bruce Bennett	David Beard	Shano McCluskov
Mulgrave Country Club	Peter Delaney	Peter Coe	Shane McCluskey
Murrumbeena	Marilla Rootsey		
Murrumbeena Park	Melanie Allen		
North Balwyn	Moira Beresford		
Oakleigh	Heather Topp	Colin Topp	
Ocean Grove	Matthew Flapper		
Pakenham	Adrian Wheelan		
Paynesville	Sue Jenkins		
Rosamond	Robert Ward	Lee Schwartz	
Rosanna	Kay Plain	Kevin Nelson	
Rosedale	Jenni Pierce		
Royal Melbourne	Rob Nethercote	Anna Rothe	
St Albans	Judith Heard		
Upwey Tecoma	Terry Button	Les Lane	
Vermont South	Michael Keel	Chris Holland	
Werribee	Steve Weston		
Yarra Glen	Gordon Baker		
Yarra Junction	Ian McDonald		
Bowls Victoria - Life Members	Betty Collins OAM		
- Board	Barb Gilbert Katie Sherlock Ken Warburton	Peter Inglis Liam Fleming Lyn Baker	lan Guymer Pat Schram
- Staff	Tony Sherwill Betty Fang	Josh Thornton Josh Rourke	Robyn Athanitis Melanie Allen
- RBMs	John Emerson Jimmy Whitehead	Paul Holtschke	Paul Jackson

Apologies were recorded from:

Club Name	Delegate 1	Delegate 2	Attendance
Benalla			Apology
Ovens & Murray Region			Apology
Hall of Fame Member	Bob Middleton		Apology
Life Member	Faye Dunn		Apology
Life Member	Ted Whitehead		Apology
Life Member	Doug Kneebone		Apology
Club Bridgewater			Apology

2. Opening of Annual General Meeting

President Barbara Gilbert welcomed all Club Delegates, Division & Region Representatives, Life Members and Board Members and declared the meeting open.

3. Remembrance

A minute's silence was observed as a mark of respect to former Life Members Ken Shields and Valmai Lewis, Board and Committee Members, Councillors, Interstate Representatives and General Members who have passed away during the past twelve months.

4. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 10th Bowls Victoria Annual General Meeting held on 24 October 2019.

MOTION for ADOPTION: The Minutes of the 10th Annual General Meeting of Bowls Victoria held at the Mulgrave Country Club on Thursday 24th October 2019, as circulated, be confirmed.

Moved: Peter Delaney (Mulgrave CC) **Seconded:** Lee Wesley (Club Sunbury)

Carried

5. Consideration of the Bowls Victoria Annual Report, Balance Sheet and Financial Statements

President Barbara Gilbert acknowledged the activities and achievements of Bowls Victoria for the past year, highlighting:

- The significant volunteer contribution at Bowls Victoria and Clubs;
- That change is necessary for bowls to be a viable sport;
- The Victorian Open continues to be our flagship event, with increasing entries each year including 1941 entries in 2019;
- Thanks to our partners including SRV, VicHealth, VicSport, Greater Shepparton City Council, City of Greater Bendigo, Moama Bowls Club, Taylor Bowls, Swan Hill Rural City Council; and
- Appreciation to the CEO and staff, and dedication from the Board.

MOTION for **ADOPTION**: The 10th Bowls Victoria Annual Report for 2019/20, as circulated be accepted and adopted.

Moved: John Roberts (Bundoora RSL BC) **Seconded:** Marilla Rootsey (Murrumbeena BC)

Carried

Bowls Victoria Finance Director Ken Warburton presented the financial report, highlighting the unusual year due to COVID with the result impacting finances significantly.

MOTION for ADOPTION: The Audited Financial Statements and Balance Sheet as presented by the Bowls Victoria Finance Director be adopted as an accurate summary of the financial status of Bowls Victoria as of 30 June 2020.

Moved: Ken Warburton (Bowls Victoria Finance Director)

Seconded: Peter Delaney (Mulgrave CC)

Carried

6. Confirmation of Auditor

CONTINUING APPOINTMENT: It was noted that William Buck & Co were appointed at the 2018 AGM as the Bowls Victoria auditors for next two years (2020 and 2021).

7. Bowls Victoria Elections 2020 - Nominations & Result of Ballot (BV Retuning Officer – Chief Executive Officer)

Insufficient nominations received to proceed to ballot for elected Bowls Victoria Director Female positions.

One nomination received for two Female Directors positions on the BV Board

• Pat Schram (City of Echuca BC)

Successful Female Candidate: (Elected until the AGM of 2022)

• Pat Schram (City of Echuca BC)

Five nominations received for two Male Directors positions on the BV Board

Ian Guymer (Macedon Ranges BC)Robert Sharpe (Dandenong Club)

• Robert Nethercote (Royal Melbourne Golf Bowls Club)

• Brian Douglas (Mordialloc Bowls Club)

Barry Brown (Moama Bowls Club) *application withdrawn 3

September 2020

Successful Male Candidates: (Elected until the AGM of 2022)

Ian Guymer (Macedon Ranges BC)Robert Sharpe (Dandenong Club)

One female position determined as a Casual Vacancy following Call for Nominations. The BV Board has reserved the right to appoint in due course as per the constitution.

8. Officer Bearers - 2020/21

Directors

(a)

(a)	Directors	r eter inglis – continuing
		Pat Schram – re-elected
		Lyn Baker – continuing
		Ian Guymer – re-elected
		Liam Fleming – continuing
		Katie Sherlock – continuing
		Rob Sharpe – elected
		Casual Vacancy – Female
(b)	President	To be appointed by the Board after
		the AGM
(c)	Deputy President	To be appointed by the Board after
		the AGM

Peter Inglis - continuing

Tony Sherwill

(d) Appointed Finance Director To be appointed by the Board

(e) Appointed Directors NIL

(f) Chief Executive Officer Tony Sherwill

9. Presentation to non-continuing Bowls Victoria Board Directors

Peter Inglis thanked Outgoing President Barbara Gilbert and Financial Director Ken Warburton for their tireless dedication to the Board and spoke to several of their achievements in their time of service.

11. End of Meeting

President Barbara Gilbert thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the proceedings of the 2020 Bowls Victoria Annual General Meeting at 1.37pm.

Barbara Gilbert

Jaken allut

President Chief Executive Officer