State Squad Announcements

by Team BV

Bowls Victoria is pleased to announce the Open and Senior State Squads to represent the Big V in the 2023-24 representative season.

Bowls Victoria has selected Squads with whom we will work through the 2023-24 representative season, enabling more athletes the opportunity to earn a place in the Side and to compete at The Nationals.

In the five months from now to October players have several opportunities to impress in major events, including Region Sides, the Australian Open, and the two State Side Series set for August (vs NSW) and September (vs WA).

Presenting the Open Squads:


Sammy Atkinson, Drouin

Olivia Cartwright, Moama

Tris Doolan, MCC

Blaine Edwards, Altona

Alana Flapper, Essendon

Jodie Fruend, Wangaratta

Anita Jenkins, Sommerville

Sophie Kurzman, Sunbury

Taylah Marron, Golden Square

Nicole McKenzie, Dandenong Club

Ann Miles, YMGBC

Cassandra Millerick, Moama

Lisa Phillips, Clayton

Emma Simmonds, Mildura

Jessica Wallace, Lilydale

Kylie Whitehead, Wodonga


Tyson Cromie, Ocean Grove

Dylan Fisher, Moonee Valley

Matt Flapper, Ocean Grove

Anthony Flapper, Essendon

Brendan Gallagher, MCC

Curtis Hanley, Melbourne

Brody Harker, Barham Golf

Brad Holland, Bendigo South

Brett Mahoney, Yarraville/Footscray

John McCarron, Glenroy

Dane McKinnon, Altona

Dean O’Neill, Bundoora

Brad Orr, Shepparton Golf

Brad Pavey, Ocean Grove

James Pearce, Deer Park

Ryan Tainton, Deer Park

The Open State Program for the 2023 representative season is:

  • State Side Series: NSW, 4-6 Aug, venue TBC, NSW
  • State Side Series: WA, 14-16 Sep, SORRENTO, WA
  • The Nationals: 12-17 Oct, SORRENTO, WA

The successful 2022 Senior (O60) Sides, who claimed both Australian Senior Sides Championships includes several new names in 2023, with the need for changes imposed on Selectors due to player unavailability. Bowls Victoria is confident this Squad has the depth of talent to defend both titles again come October.

Presenting the Senior Squads:


Kate Bush, Shepparton Park

Gayle Edwards, Altona

Alison Hall, MCC

Dianne Hands, Shepparton Park

Denise Huender , MCC

Jan Hurst, Altona

Jan Morton, Sale

Judy Nardella, Deer Park

Carol Protopapas, Heathmont

Jennifer Salmon , Keilor

Claire Sanders, YMGCR

Laureen Smith, YMGCR

Marilyn Stephenson, Moama

Robyn Thomassen, Grangeburn

Mary Tragardh, Myrtleford

Sharon Warfe, Benalla

Paula Wood, Dandenong RSL


Brendan Baker, Werribee

Ian Brimblecombe, Wangaratta

Mark Cowan, Club Sunbury

Nick Dawe, Heathmont

David Donaldson, Flemington/Kensington

Phil Godkin, Eaglehawk

Ray Jansen, Montmorency

Tom Ristic, MCC

Tony Schiavello,  Bundoora

Steven Shennan , Essendon

Steve Sullivan, Queenscliff

Colin Veenendaal, Mitcham

Robert Watt, Craigieburn

Michael West, Flemington/Kensington

Michael Wilson, MCC

Chris Young, Chalambar Golf

The State Program for the 2023-24 Senior Side representative season is:

  • State Side Series NSW, 7-8 Aug, venue TBC, NSW
  • The Nationals 7-12 Oct, SORRENTO, WA