City V Country 2022 squads announced

by Team BV

Launched last year, the City v Country format for State Trials is about to get underway again. A fantastic opportunity for our Regional bowlers to face off against their city counterparts, will Country dominate again this year or will City have something to prove?

The series will take place this weekend, 14th – 15th May, at Bendigo Bowling Club.

Spectators are encouraged, so if you’re in the Bendigo region head down to take in the action of the new format State trial system.

This City Vs Country concept provides a higher standard of competition, increased visibility for players across the state, a more meaningful competition and a historical record of all players chosen to represent either City or Country.

Players are presented with a numbered City or Country cap in recognition of their selection.

BV/BA pathways coach Ian Ewing said of the recently introduced trial concept, “last year’s revamp in the way we trial and select players to represent the state had been needed for a while. By providing a more competitive environment in which the players can showcase their skills is a good thing for bowls in Victoria. Bragging rights for the winner, City or Country, adds an extra dimension to the game for the players to fight for.”

We are pleased to announce the 2022 City Vs Country squads:

Josh CorlessMason Bayliss
Jarryd DaviesAndrew Brown
Ben FearnBrad Campbell
Dylan FisherTyson Cromie
Brendan GallagherKoby Cromie
Max GoldsmithTim Cromie
Curtis HanleyDavid Dawes
Ben HubberMatt Flapper
Ben LoughlinEthan Fruend
Nathan LynchJared Hammond
John McCarronEthan Higgins
Dane McKinnonBrad Holland
Nathan MurrayCameron Keenan
Dean O’NeillBrad Lancaster
James PearceBrett Mahoney
Josh SandersBrad Marron
Todd ShannonLeigh McIlvenny
Alex SkiltonBrad Orr
Cooper WescombeAdrian Pantling
Brad WilloughbyBrad Pavey
Nathan WilsonMax Rowley
Ben Winther Mitchell Sidebottom
Jordan YatesAaron Tomkins
Bryce Young Conner Trewren
Melanie BrooksSam Atkinson
Trish CullinaneKaren Brennan
Kirsten DayBronwyn Capewell
Tris DoolanOlivia Cartwright
Anne DraffenJodie Fruend
Alana FlapperAngela Hackett
Courtney GabbLee Harris
Sarah HowardAnita Jenkins
Sophie KurzmanTaylah Marron
Mikayla LongPeta Mattys
Lisa PhillipsAnne Miles
Sara RodgerCassandra Millerick
Olivia SladeKelly Norris
Vicki SmithStephanie Priest
Andrea TudorovicEmma Simmonds
Jess WallaceRhoanna Smith

The City Vs Country Series will take place over the weekend of 14th-15th May at Bendigo Bowling Club:

Game 1: 9.00am
Game 2: 12.30pm
Game 3: 3.30pm

Game 4: 9.00am
Game 5: 12.30pm

Additionally, the O60’s State Trials are also taking place this week in Bendigo.

Congratulations to all squad members and good luck!