City V Country Men’s squads announced

by Team BV

The recent inaugural City Vs Country women’s series held in Bendigo was a fantastic opportunity for our Regional women to face off against their city counterparts, with Country eventually taking the title. We were looking forward to the men following suit over consecutive weekends, however getting put back into lockdown put a temporary hold on the men’s event. We are pleased to have been able to reschedule the event for this weekend, and can now announce the two squads.

It is important to note that due to the change in date as well as location, some players were unavailable, so we’ve had to make some changes to the sides. We thank players for their flexibility as well as host Club Sunbury to assisting to make this rescheduled event possible with short notice.

Spectators are now allowed so we encourage bowlers to head down to Sunbury this weekend to take in the action of the new format State trial system. Club Sunbury have fantastic facilities, you can grab a meal with great viewing.

This new City Vs Country concept will provide a higher standard of competition, increased visibility for players across the state, a more meaningful competition and a historical record of all players chosen to represent either the City or the Country team.

Players will be presented with a numbered City or Country cap in recognition of their selection.

BV/BA pathways coach Ian Ewing said of the new concept, “a revamp in the way we select players to represent the state has been needed for a while, and we believe providing a more competitive environment in which the players can showcase their skills can only be a good thing for bowls in Victoria. Creating the bragging rights for the winner, City or Country, adds an extra dimension to the game for the players to fight for.”

We are pleased to announce the inaugural men’s City Vs Country squads:

Adrian MarachioliBrad Lancaster
Ben FearnBrad Marron
Ben HubberBrad Orr
Ben LoughlinBrad Pavey
Ben WintherBrendan Umbers
Brendan GallagherBrett Mahoney
Brett SpurrBrodie Harker
Bryce YoungCam Keenan
Chris BallCurtis Hanley
Dane McKinnonDavid Cartwright
Dean O’NeillDavid Dawes
James PearceDavid Keenan
Jarryd DaviesEthan Fruend
Jay Bye-NorrisEthan Higgins
John McCarronJared Hammond
Josh CorlessKoby Cromie
Josh SandersLeigh McIlvenny
Max GoldsmithMark Ryan
Nate ZeenoMatt Flapper
Nathan MurrayMax Rowley
Nathan WilsonNathan Bush
Russell Green JnrRhys Jeffs
Ryan TaintonTim Cromie
Todd ShannonTyson Cromie

The men’s City Vs Country Series will take place over the weekend of 26th – 27th June at Club Sunbury:

Game 1: 9.00am
Game 2: 12.30pm
Game 3: 3.30pm

Game 4: 9.00am
Game 5: 12.30pm

Congratulations to all squad members and good luck!