Novice Singles Finals field set

by Sean O'Kane

Mulgrave Country Club will play host to the 2020 Men’s and Women’s Novice Singles Finals which are set to roll on Sunday March 1.

Thirty-two bowlers will take to the green across the men’s and women’s field, with the final match played during State Champions Week in Bendigo on Saturday April 18.

The Novice Singles are well supported around Victoria, with Regions running their own club qualifiers to determine the winner who will secure a place in the last 16.

Congratulations to the qualifiers:

Men’s Field and Draw

Region Club Player
Bendigo Campaspe South Bendigo Josh Wiffen
Central Goulburn Murray Tatura Ashley McDonell
Central Victoria Victoria Shaun O’Loughlin
Eastern Ranges Mulgrave CC Lars Swart
Geelong Leopold Craig Heard
Gippsland Lakes Entrance Mark Campbell
Metro West Footscray Park Tom Lines
Murray Mallee Murray Downs Greg Robertson
Northern Gateway Glenroy Matthew Rangan
Ovens & Murray Wangaratta Ethan Fruend
Peninsula Casey Mt Martha Wayne Taylor
Sandbelt Murrumbeena Park Simon Leon
Strzelecki Warragul Darren McDonald
West Coast Portland RSL Chris Fleming
Wimmera Warracknabeal Golf Sean Smith
Yarra Richmond Union Joshua Hurn


Women’s Field and Draw

Region Club Player
Bendigo Campaspe City of Echuca Robyn Tooley
Central Goulburn Murray Numurkah Golf Maree Luci
Central Victoria Clunes Val Jackson
Eastern Ranges Glen Waverley Joanne Gibcus
Geelong Drysdale Melissa Inderberg
Gippsland Sale Julie Simic
Metro West Footscray Park Gherrie Ross
Murray Mallee Irymple Val Nichols
Northern Gateway Glenroy Lyella Long
Ovens & Murray Yarrawonga MGCR Kim Johnson
Peninsula Casey Dromana Melissa Burich
Sandbelt Hampton Christine Scopel
Strzelecki Tarwin Lower Larissa Falls
West Coast City Memorial Linda Gilbert
Wimmera Ararat Di Leeke
Yarra Burwood District Jacqueline Brown


The 2020 Men’s and Women’s Novice Singles Finals will take place at the Mulgrave Country Club on the corner of Wellington Road and Jells Roads in Wheelers Hill.



Rounds will commence at approximately 10:00 am (Last 16), 1:00 pm (Quarter Finals) and 3:00 pm (Semi Finals).