Ocean Grove, Beaumaris & Essendon set for BPL 10

by admin

Ten teams from across Victoria battled it out yesterday at the Dandenong Club, home of the newly formed BPL team Melbourne Pulse, to decide the final three who will represent Victoria at the Bowl Australia National BPL Cup final in November.  

The sectional play was divided into two groups with the winning teams of each section progressing through to the final. 

Ocean Grove went through undefeated in Section 2 with a team consisting of Victoria Under-18 coach Matt Flapper, Craig Rippon and Mick West. 

Beaumaris was the Section 1 winner with Matty Kurta, Adrian Luke and Andrew Penalunan having three wins for the day. 

Essendon and Croydon who both finished second across each of their sections, went head-to-head to determine the third team to travel north. Essendon’s Jay Bye-Norris, Ryan Tainton, Anthony Flapper and Ben Simmons went through with a 6-6 and 14-8 result. 

Ocean Grove, Beaumaris and Essendon now make their way to BPL 10 at Club Pine Rivers in Brisbane from November 12-15, 2019.

Please visit Bowls Australia’s website for more.