2018-19 Bowls Victoria Annual General Meeting Agenda & Registration

by Team BV

Notice is hereby given that the 10th Annual General Meeting of Delegates to Bowls Victoria will be held on Thursday, 24 October, 2019.

The meeting will be held at the Mulgrave Country Club, Wellington Rd &, Jells Rd, Wheelers Hill VIC 3150, commencing at 1.00pm.

Bowls Victoria would like to offer all registered attendees a free CoachForce session on Mulgrave’s fantastic greens after close of the meeting with Victorian Jackaroo and Commonwealth Games Silver medallist Barrie Lester.

In accordance with Bowls Victoria Incorporated Constitution Clause 6.5(a):

“Each Club shall advise the Chief Executive prior to an Annual General Meeting who its Delegates will be for the succeeding year. If a Club fails to provide notification to the Chief Executive, the President and Secretary of the Club shall be deemed to be the Delegates”

and Clause 6.1(a):

“Clubs ….. shall be represented at the General Meetings by two delegates, one male and one female, if possible”.

Clubs are required to please ensure they advise Bowls Victoria via email: robyna@bowlsvic.org.au prior to Wednesday, 9 October 2019, the names of their Club Delegates who will be attending the AGM, plus the free CoachForce session if desired.

Please click here for the 2017-18 Bowls Victoria Annual General Meeting minutes.


1. Introduction and Welcome by President to all Delegates, Life Members, etc.

2. Opening of Annual General Meeting

3. Remembrance

4. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 9th Bowls Victoria Annual General Meeting held on 7 November 2018

5. Consideration and adoption of:
(a)  Bowls Victoria Annual Report 2018/19 – including Reports of BV Committees
(b)  Balance Sheet & Financial Statements 2018/19 – Ken Warburton (BV Finance Director)

6. Confirmation of Auditor – Approval of Recommendation from BV Board of Continuance of William Buck in that role

7. Bowls Victoria Elections 2019 – Nominations (BV Retuning Officer)
Nominations Closed at 4.30pm on Wednesday 31 July 2019.
Insufficient nominations received to proceed to ballot for elected Bowls Victoria Director positions.

One nomination received for two Male Directors positions on the BV Board

  • Peter Inglis (Simpson BC)

Successful Male Candidate: (Elected until the AGM of 2021)

  • Peter Inglis (Simpson BC)

One nomination received for two Female Directors positions on the BV Board

  • Lyn Baker (Yarra Glen BC)

Successful Female Candidate: (Elected until the AGM of 2021)

  • Lyn Baker (Yarra Glen BC)

(Three positions, two males and one female determined as Casual Vacancies following a Call for Nominations).

The BV Board has resolved at their September 2019 meeting to appoint the following to fill two of the casual vacancies:

  • Katie Sherlock (Boronia BC), appointed until the AGM of 2021
  • Liam Fleming (Moama BC), appointed until the AGM of 2021

Two Bowls Victoria Directors Retiring:

  • John Inglese – Not seeking re-election and Retiring
  • Marilla Rootsey – Not seeking re-election and Retiring

8. Officer Bearers – 2019/20
(a)  Directors
Barbara Gilbert – continuing
Ian Guymer – continuing
Pat Schram – continuing
Lyn Baker – re-elected
Peter Inglis – re-elected
Liam Fleming – appointed (casual vacancy)
Katie Sherlock – appointed (casual vacancy)
(b)  President Barbara Gilbert
(c)  Deputy President Peter Inglis
(d)  Finance Director Ken Warburton – continuing appointment
(e)  Appointed Directors NIL
(f)  Chief Executive Officer Tony Sherwill

9. Appointment of Auditor – Recommendation of the Bowls Victoria Board for William Buck

10. Presentation to non-continuing Bowls Victoria Board Directors – John Inglese and Marilla Rootsey by (Barbara Gilbert)

11. Announcement of Bowls Victoria, Volunteer of the Year Award – Region Nominees and State Winner. (Chief Executive Officer and State President to conduct acknowledgements and presentations)

Region Winner Clubs:
Central Goulburn Murray
Rob Johnston – Mooroopna BC
Eastern Ranges
Ray Pitts – Ringwood BC
Ange Patterson – Geelong Cement BC
Metro West
Helen Mills – Melton BC
Northern Gateway
Leslie Smith – Fawkner BC
Ovens & Murray
Lynton Ford – Corowa Civic BC
Peninsula Casey
Jennifer Ellis – Carrum BC
Rob Nethercote – Royal Melbourne Golf Club BC
Finlay Luke – Loch & District BC
West Coast
Raymond Cooknell – Warrnambool City Memorial BC
John Mann – Burwood District BC
Bendigo Campaspe
No Nomination
Central Victoria
No Nomination
No Nomination
Murray Mallee
No Nomination
No Nomination

12. End of Meeting