National Bowlers Arm Championships Underway


The National Bowlers Arm Championships rolled into South Australia this week with seventeen Victorians making their way across the border to contest the four-day event.

Led by Team Manager and Treasurer of Bendigo Bowls Division, Stephen Piercy (Eaglehawk), the National Bowlers Arm Championships are a happy hunting ground for Victoria who has secured the overall title six years running.

Contending the seventh National Championships this week are Barry Anset (Kangaroo Flat), Ray Arnold (Dromana), Stephen Coles (North Balwyn), Neil Crisp (City Memorial, Warrnambool), Rod Fletcher (Cohuna Golf), Phill Godkin (Eaglehawk), Steve Mitchell (Koroit), Ann Power (City of Frankston), Chris Randell (Bendigo East), Vern Rehe (Moama), Damian Riches (Cobden), Greg Ritchie (City Memorial, Warrnambool), Michael Rose (Croydon), Adele Ryan (Ocean Grove), Ken Sutcliffe (Euroa), Peter Toovey (Eltham) and Lee Wesley (Sunbury).

Singles, pairs, triples and fours event will all be played, with all players requiring the use of a bowling arm to compete.

Victoria produced a solid performance on day one to sit on top of the ladder after the end of round two on day one.

On a synthetic surface which was running consistently at 15-16 seconds, all the games were very close and not decided until the very end, with a very high standard displayed by all bowlers throughout each game. With two and half wins and the three singles victories, Victoria are on top of the table.

Image courtesy of Armed Bowlers Australia.

The 2019 National Bowlers Arm Championships will be contested at Tranmere Bowls Club from September 9-12.