Vic Team Announced For National Bowlers Arm Championships

by Team BV

Seventeen players will make their way to Tranmere in South Australia for this year’s National Bowlers Arm Championships after the Victorian team was announced this week.

Barry Anset (Kangaroo Flat), Ray Arnold (Dromana), Stephen Coles (North Balwyn), Neil Crisp (City Memorial, Warrnambool), Rod Fletcher (Cohuna Golf), Phill Godkin (Eaglehawk), Steve Mitchell (Koroit), Ann Power (City of Frankston), Chris Randell (Bendigo East), Vern Rehe (Moama), Damian Riches (Cobden), Greg Ritchie (City Memorial, Warrnambool), Michael Rose (Croydon), Adele Ryan (Ocean Grove), Ken Sutcliffe (Euroa), Peter Toovey (Eltham) and Lee Wesley (Sunbury) will all contest the 7th National Championships.

The team will be led by Team Manager and Treasurer of Bendigo Bowls Division, Stephen Piercy (Eaglehawk).

Players were selected to trial in Shepparton back in April and were selected based on previous performances at Nationals, Bowlers Arm Victorian State Championships and Bowlers Arm Club Events.

The National Bowlers Arm Championships are a happy hunting ground for Victoria who has secured the overall title six years running.

Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours event will all be played, with all players requiring the use of a bowling arm to compete.

The 2019 National Bowlers Arm Championships will be held at Tranmere Bowls Club from September 8-12. A practice day will run on the 8th before the competition gets underway on the 9th.