BCiB Australian Jackaroos and Emerging Jackaroos representative squads unveiled

by Bowls Australia

Bowls Australia (BA) has today unveiled the BCiB Australian Jackaroos and Emerging Jackaroos representative squads to steer the sport towards the upcoming international events over the course of 2019/20.

The sport’s national selectors have cast an eye towards the future when selecting the 20-player top-tiered contingent and 12-player second-tier feeder squad, with the latter possessing a particular emphasis on youth.

An average age of just 21 headlines the Emerging Jackaroos squad, with a number of rising stars recognised for their performances at junior level with inclusion for the first time.

2019 Australian Open Under-18 Boys’ and Girls’ Singles winners Jarryd Davies (16) and Kira Bourke (16) are new inclusions, while Jake Rynne (15), Joshua Studham (18), Mason Lewis (22) and Brianna Smith (19) will also benefit from exposure to the national High Performance program for the first time.

The sole change to the BCiB Australian Jackaroos top-tier squad is the inclusion of newly-crowned Australian Open Women’s Pairs winner Dawn Hayman (22), making the jump from the pool of Emerging Jackaroos.

The BCiB Australian Jackaroos contingent will be contracted for the next 12 months, concluding after the 2020 World Bowls Championships, while the Australian Emerging Jackaroos team will remain intact for the rest of 2019, giving selectors an opportunity to include any in-form additions ahead of 2020’s first international competition, the Trans Tasman Test Series in February.

Fresh off steering Australia to four gold, one silver and two bronze medals at the 2019 Asia Pacific Championships, National Coach Steve Glasson said a clear focus on stability and youth was taken by the selectors in confirming the Jackaroos squads.

“We felt it was important to reward those existing BCiB Australian Jackaroos who, to their credit, have barely put a foot wrong over the past 12 months,” he said.

“At the same time, we are delighted to welcome a number of new faces into the Emerging Jackaroos fold, including five teenagers, who we believe will benefit from exposure to the Jackaroos environment and High Performance system.

“With the Multi-Nations, Trans Tasman and World Bowls Challenge international events all upon us Imminently in November and the 2020 World Bowls Championships less than 12 months away, we feel the current Jackaroos collective is the right blend of youth and experience to give us the best shot at success at all these events.”

Bowls Australia congratulates the athletes entrusted with representation in the BCiB Australian Jackaroos, Australian Emerging Jackaroos and Para Sport squads, with the latter seeing no change to the previously-confirmed six players.

BCiB Australian Jackaroos

Lynsey Clarke (35, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Kelsey Cottrell (29, St Johns Park, NSW)
Dawn Hayman (22, St Johns Park, NSW)*
Carla Krizanic (29, Sunbury, VIC)
Kristina Krstic (25, Manning Memorial, WA)
Karen Murphy (44, Cabramatta, NSW)
Ellen Ryan (22, Cabramatta, NSW)
Natasha Scott (28, Raymond Terrace, NSW)
Chloe Stewart (23, Tweed Heads, QLD)
Rebecca Van Asch (31, Invermay, TAS)

Barrie Lester (37, Melbourne, VIC)
Jesse Noronha (28, Warilla, NSW)
Ray Pearse (34, Cabramatta, NSW)
Nathan Rice (40, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Wayne Ruediger (42, Grange, SA)
Aron Sherriff (33, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Aaron Teys (25, Warilla, NSW)
Benjamin Twist (29, St Johns Park, NSW)
Corey Wedlock (23, Warilla, NSW)
Aaron Wilson (27, Cabramatta, NSW)

Australian Emerging Jackaroos

Tiffany Brodie (21, St Kilda, VIC)
Bolivia Millerick (25, Broadbeach, QLD)
Samantha Shannahan (30, Deer Park, VIC)
Brianna Smith (19, St Johns Park, NSW)*
Jessica Srisamruaybai (19, Tweed Heads, QLD)
Kira Bourke (16, Tweed Heads, QLD)*

Jayden Christie (20, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Carl Healey (32, Cabramatta, NSW)
Joshua Studham (18, Club Holdfast, SA)*
Mason Lewis (22, Engadine, NSW)*
Jake Rynne (15, North Toowoomba, QLD)*
Jarryd Davies (16, Essendon, VIC)*

* indicates new inclusion

Para Sport Squad

Athletes with a Disability:
Tony Bonnell (51, Broadbeach, QLD)
Joshua Barry (38, Deer Park, VIC)
Chris Flavel (35, Payneham, SA)
Barry Brennan (72, Moama, VIC)

Jake Fehlberg (25, Burleigh Heads, QLD, Director – Grant Fehlberg)
Lynne Seymour (69, Thuringowa, QLD, Director – Robert Seymour)