Inaugural Uni Bowls event a hit

by Team BV

Last month, Bowls Victoria partnered with Melbourne Bowling Club to host the first Victorian Intervarsity Bowls Tournament.

Four Universities signed up to participate in the inaugural event, including Deakin University, Monash University, Swinburne University and Victoria University. Deakin entered two teams, while all others had one in the 2 bowls triples event which showed strong competition and a great atmosphere all day.

Cold and cloudy conditions at Melbourne Bowling club didn’t stop the great spirits of everyone participating.

Victoria University achieved a come from behind victory in the final round to play off for a third placing against Swinburne University.

Monash proved to be too strong for the rest by taking down Deakin (2) 10 – 7 in the final to take out the title and remained undefeated all day.

Bowls Victoria would like to thank Byron Coonerty for his assistance with planning and organizing the event, Seth Green (Umpire), Melbourne Bowling club for their hosting, catering and prizes and DSG Bowls Shop for their prize donations too.

1st  – Monash University

Rory McNab
Dan Cookson
Max Goldsmith

2nd  – Deakin University (2)

Aidan Keranen
Glen Sodaitis
Ryan Bedggood

3rd  – Victoria University

Darcy Moran
Tayla Morison
Ben Fearn