Victorians ready for New South Wales Test

by Team BV

Bowls Victoria’s state selectors have released the Men and Women’s Senior & U25 teams to take on New South Wales from January 23rd to January 25th  at The Greens The Entrance on the Central Coast.

The last test series against NSW at Whittlesea Bowls Club in March was a mixed result for our Victorian’s, who won a deciding 3rd test series 76-54 in the Men’s and the Victorian Women will look to get their revenge in the series, as they went down 0-3.

Both U25 results went the way of New South Wales.

The New South Wales Men’s team will feature ex-Victorian & 2018 Commonwealth Games Singles Gold Medallist Aaron Wilson & fellow Jackaroos Ray Pearse, Aaron Teys, Jesse Norohna & Ben Twist, the Women’s team will feature Jackaroos’ players Karen Murphy, Kelsey Cottrell, Ellen Ryan & St.Kilda Premier Division player, Natasha Scott.

The team will also feature Dawn Hayman, who partnered with Lisa Phillips from Brighton to win the Victorian Open Women’s Pairs Title last month.

The team will leave early on Wednesday Afternoon and play three tests across Thursday & Friday before heading home on Friday Afternoon

Congratulations to all of the Men’s, Women’s & U25s teams that have been selected, do us proud!

Go Vics!



The selected side is:

Curtis Hanley

Nathan Murray

Dane McKinnon

Barrie Lester (s)


(Bundoora RSL)



Josh Corless

Brett Mahoney

Nathan Wilson

Matthew Ellul (s)

(Bundoora RSL)

(Deer Park)



John McCarron

Leigh McIlvenny

Jay Bye-Norris

Matthew Flapper (s)


(Ocean Grove)


(Ocean Grove)

Manager: Pat Clark

Coach: Ian Ewing

Selector: Anthony Flapper



The selected side is:


Blaine Edwards

Makayla Gibson

Tiffany Brodie

Carla Krizanic (s)


(St Kilda)

(St Kilda)


Mikayla Long

Anita Jenkins

Anne Miles

Lisa Phillips (s)



(Yarrawonga MGCR)


Kylie Whitehead

Courtney Gabb

Jessica Wallace

Samantha Shanahan (s)


(St Kilda)


(Deer Park)

Manager: Judy Davey

Coach: Jan Hurst



MEN’S – U25

Jarryd Davies – Essendon

Brad Foote – Mentone

Brendon Gallagher – MCC

Michael Sims – Melbourne

Jordan Yates – Essendon

Ben Fearn – Melbourne


Coach/Manager: Matthew Robertson


Renee Hoffman – Lilydale

Taylah Marron – Bendigo East

Emma Simmonds – Irymple

Lisa Trewarne – Sunbury

Sarah Ashby – Clayton

Amelia Bruggy – Bendigo

Manager: Patty Whorlow