U18 Victoria v South Australia test team announced

by Sean O'Kane

The future stars of Australian lawn bowls will be on display at Geelong next month with a 10-player strong Victorian team set to take on South Australia at Geelong’s newest undercover facility, the City of Geelong Bowls Club.

Flying the flag for Victoria will be Amity Bickley (Mulgrave CC), Kira Bourke (Ocean Grove), Olivia Cartwright (Kyabram), Tyson Cromie (Yarrawonga), Jarryd Davies (Essendon), Cameron Keenan (Rochester), Sophie Kurzman (Ballarat City Oval), Jordyn Long (Glenroy) Grant McLaren (City of Colac) and Kyle Williams (Whittlesea).

Kira Bourke, Amity Bickley, Olivia Cartwright, Tyson Cromie, and Sophie Kurzman all come into the squad from a successful Australian Nationals campaign earlier this year, which Victoria dominated.

Jarryd Davies, who also featured heavily at the Australian Nationals taking home a gold medal in the Pairs (with Cromie) and the Singles, enters the team hot off the back of his Steller Victorian Open success.

Davies claimed the Steller Victorian Open Pairs title with playing partner Cooper Wescombe (Glenroy) and the Vic Medal, which is awarded to the player who accumulates the most amount points across the event’s four disciplines.

Victorian Team Manager and Chairperson for Bowls Victoria’s Under 18 Committee, Louise Morison, is looking forward to the event and a new playing experience for the team at the City of Geelong Bowls Club.

“We’re really looking forward to the event. It will be exciting to play at City of Geelong’s new undercover venue. We had a tour around the greens and clubrooms this week and both the Victorian and South Australian players are going to enjoy what the facility has to offer,” Morison said.

The Victoria versus South Australia Test Series will be held at the City of Geelong Bowls Club from January 8-10, 2018 and the event is free to attend.