Men’s Triples Final winners Russell Locke (Kyabram), Mitch Sidebottom (South Bendigo) & Matthew Robertson (Benalla)

Local bowlers take Vic Open top honours

by Team BV

Local bowlers from the Shepparton and the Goulburn Valley region dominated day seven of the Steller Victorian Open.

Suzanne Tyson, Catherine Dudley and Bev Cahill from Shepparton Park Bowls Club have claimed the Women’s Triples Final at the 2018 Steller Victorian Open.

The Shepparton Park locals stole victory from Vicki Hudson (Heathmont Bowls Club), Lynda Edwards (Blackburn Bowls Club), Ruth Phillips (Heathmont Bowls Club) on Thursday to win 17-12.

“I can’t believe it. I didn’t think we’d make it through the sectional, so this is really good,” said Suzanne Tyson.

“It’s nice to come away and have a win at home. It’s been a really great week. You get to catch up with a lot of people who’ve been coming to the event for year and who you haven’t seen in ages.”

“So many people are behind the scenes working hard. There are a whole range of people who’ve been so supportive of us, like our family, friends, and the club,” Tyson added.

It was a close match in the Men’s Triples Final with Russell Locke (Kyabram), Mitch Sidebottom (South Bendigo) and Matthew Robertson (Benalla) taking a 16 -12 win over Brett Wright (Barooga Sports) Brett Gunning (Shepparton Golf) and David Daws (Shepparton Golf).

The last finals match for the day was the Mixed Pairs with Dane McKinnon (Altona) and Tris Doolan (MCC),proving victorious over Wendy Wilson (Tweed Heads) and David Wells (City Memorial Bowls Club Warrnambool) by 11-7.

On Friday, both the Men’s and Women’s Pairs and Men’s & Women’s Singles finals will take place. Singles semi-finals will be decided on Friday morning.

The Men’s Pairs will see a battle of youth with Curtis and Cain Hanley (Melbourne) going head-to-head with under-18 state players Jarryd Davies (Essendon) and Cooper Wescombe (Glenroy).

In the Women’s Pairs, Dawn Hayman (St John’s Park NSW) and Lisa Phillips (Brighton) will face Mary Tragardh (Yackandah) and Maryanne Spizer (Moama).

Finals games will be live-streamed on Friday from 8:30am. Click here for the broadcast schedule.