State sides update

by Team BV

VIC claim Alley Shield, NSW secure Marj Morris Trophy

Victoria have claimed the men’s Alley Shield and NSW have secured yet another women’s Marj Morris Trophy, both with a round to spare at the Australian Sides Championships.

Victoria’s men claimed their sixth successive victory this morning in Darwin, defeating ACT, while second-placed South Australia conceded their second loss of the tournament, to Tasmania, which has given the Big V an unassailable lead in the quest for the Alley Shield regardless of this afternoon’s result against NSW.

The Big V will finish one-game ahead of their closest competition, even if they succumb to NSW in this afternoon’s final encounter.

Meanwhile, NSW women have wrapped up their sixth Marj Morris Trophy victory in seven years, after a three-rink victory over the Northern Territory this morning.

Natasha Scott’s quartet trailed the Top End’s Colleen Orr all game, but secured 3 shots on the final end to prevail 21-20, which extended the Blues rink-wins to an unassailable 4 clear of second-placed Victoria.

As a result, Victoria cannot usurp NSW for the title even if they were to win their final contest against the Blues by all three rinks.

While the Big V can’t pinch the Marj Morris Trophy, they also can’t be beaten for the silver medal regardless of any result.

The contest between those top two teams will still have a bearing on the Overall Champions Trophy.

Victoria are in the box seat to take that honour, however, NSW are also still in contention to poach the silverware.

If one of the teams is able to win both men’s and women’s encounters, they will claim the coveted Trophy outright, however if they split the points across the genders the prize will be determined on a count-back of rink wins.

The men’s silver medal is also still up for grabs, with Tasmania, South Australia, NSW and Queensland all on four wins from six starts.

Full results from this afternoon’s sixth round can be found below.

Click here to view the men’s Alley Shield ladder.

Click here to view the women’s Marj Morris Trophy ladder.

2018 Australian Sides Championships
Saturday, May 5, 2018 – Day four 
Men’s Sides Championships (Alley Shield):
Round 6: NSW def NT 75-49, QLD def WA 54-52, TAS def SA 67-65, VIC def ACT 63-49

Women’s Sides Championships (Marj Morris Trophy): 
Round 3: VIC def ACT 75-52, NSW def NT 69-43, SA def TAS 63-47, QLD def WA 66-60

Full results:

NSW def NT 75-49
Wilson def Kitto 30-14
Twist lost to Smallacombe 20-24
Ferguson def Maher 25-11

QLD def WA 54-52
Sherriff def Mitchell 18-17
Wilkie def Slavich 25-17
Rice lost to Packer 11-18

TAS def SA 67-65
Schraner def Ruediger 27-24
Sims lost to Thulbron 15-22
Nitz def Kleinig 25-19

VIC def ACT 63-49
Lester def Craven 30-12
Ellul tied with Mclearn 18-18
Fisher lost to Watts 15-19

VIC def ACT 75-52
Brodie def Bacchetto 35-9
Krizanic def Moore 21-16
Shannahan lost to Harmer 19-27

NSW def NT 69-43
Murphy def Aumann 20-14
Scott def Orr 21-20
Cottrell def Chandler 28-9

SA def TAS 63-47
Callisto lost Van Asch 15-23
McGorman def Sesara 27-10
Hutchinson def Hodgetts 21-14

QLD def WA 66-60
Keegan def Abe 22-21
Millerick tied with Krstic 21-21
Clarke def Morss 23-18

Credit: Bowls Australia.

39th Annual Australian Blind Bowls Championships
Mooroolbark BC in Melbourne’s outer eastern suburbs was the host venue for this event which commenced on Tuesday 1st and concluded on Monday 7th May.
Mooroolbark BC has a long-standing association with conducting this event when it has been staged in Victoria, and it has been doing so since 1990 and the members of the Club rally together to provide great hospitality and first-class facilities for the week-long event
Players & Directors representing Western Australia, South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland & Victoria attended these championships to contest events in B1, B2, B3 & B4 vision impairment classification categories in Men’s & Women’s Singles, Open Singles, Mixed Pairs and Open Pairs.
Individual Event Medallists were:
B1 Men’s Singles:
Wayne Thompson (NSW) – Gold
John Ryan (WA) – Silver
Barry Brown (QLD) – Bronze

B1 Women’s Singles:
Maree Fenech (VIC) – Gold
Vanessa Hinton (QLD) – Silver
Marissa Wills (NSW) – Bronze

B2 Men’s Singles:
Michael Pullinger (WA) – Gold
Len O’Brien (VIC) – Silver Ivan Shortis (VIC) – Bronze

B2 Women’s Singles:
June Brittain (QLD) – Gold
Kath Murrell (SA) – Silver
Mary Price (VIC) – Bronze

B3 Men’s Singles:
Tony Scott (VIC) – Gold
Jake Fehlberg (QLD) – Silver
Mike Donnelly (VIC) – Bronze

B3 Women’s Singles:
Christine Henry (QLD) – Gold
Jacqueline Hudson (NSW) – Silver

B4 Open Singles:
Denis Wormald (QLD) – Gold
Sharon Dunk (NSW) – Silver
John Vance (QLD) – Bronze

B1 Mixed Pairs:
Wayne Thompson & Marissa Wills (NSW) – Gold
Fred Pomroy (NSW) & Maree Fenech (VIC) – Silver

B1 Open Pairs:
John Ryan (WA) & Maree Fenech (VIC) – Gold
Wayne Thompson & Gary Edman (NSW) – Silver
Fred Pomroy & Marissa Wills (NSW) – Bronze

B2 Mixed Pairs:
Len O’Brien & Mary Price (VIC) – Gold
Ivan Shortis & Lisa Condy (VIC) – Silver
Margaret Rosewall (VIC) & John Ryan (WA) – Bronze

B2 Open Pairs:
Margaret Rosewall (VIC) & Judy Phillips (NSW) – Gold
Michael Pullinger & Wayne Forbes (WA) – Silver
Ivan Shortis & Len O’Brien (VIC) – Bronze

B3 Open Pairs:
Tony Scott & Mike Donnelly (VIC) – Gold
Jake Fehlberg & Chris Backstrom (QLD) – Silver
Kath Murrell (SA) & Jacqueline Hudson(NSW) – Bronze

B3 Mixed Pairs:
Jake Fehlberg & Christine Henry (QLD) – Gold
Russell Hadley & Jacqueline Hudson(NSW) – Silver
Michael Pullinger & Mavis Ballantine (WA) – Bronze

B4 Mixed Pairs:
Sharon Dunk (NSW) & Keith Johnson (QLD) – Gold
Peter Campion & Tony Scott (VIC) – Silver
Denis Wormald(QLD) & Sandra White (NSW) – Bronze

B4 Open Pairs:
Denis Wormald & John Vance(QLD) – Gold
Sharon Dunk & Sandra White (NSW) – Silver
Keith Johnson & Wayne McDonald (QLD) – Bronze

Best Overall Individual Performance
Gwen Lewis Trophy – Tony Scott (VIC)

Best Male Individual Performance
Ron Humphry Trophy – Tony Scott (VIC)

Best Female Individual Performance
Ron Humphry Trophy – Maree Fenech (VIC)

Encouragement Award
Marlene Ireland – Bronwyn Fitzpatrick (NSW)

Champion State – Le Mans Toyota Shield

1st Place South Australia
2nd Place Victoria
3rd Place Queensland
4th Place Western Australia
5th Place New South Wales

Extended thanks must go to the Event Organisers led by Berneice Stevenson, Peter Stevenson, Maree Fenech, Joe Fenech, Faye Black, Mavis Atkins & Mary Price. Fantastic support was provided by Mooroolbark BC’s Results Co-Ordinator John Drummond who made sure that up to date reporting on results during the series were made available.

Congratulations to the entire volunteer workforce who lent their support in all areas of marking, catering and bar provisions to make this a very memorable 2018 National Blind Bowls Championships for all participants and spectators.