SSV Primary & Secondary State Bowls Championships

by Sean O'Kane

The teams are set for this Wednesday’s annual School Sport Victoria (SSV) Primary & Secondary State Bowls Championships at Darebin City Bowling Club.
In the lead-up to this event, Regional & Divisional Events were held around the State, with some new Bowls Victoria Clubs signing up to get involved with our School Sport Programs.

Teams in the Primary School Event will play three games in their Pool, followed by the Grand Final involving teams that top the Pool A & Pool B competitions.
2017 State Champions, Our Lady Help of Christians Primary School in Warrnambool and 2015 & 2016 State Champions Wattleview Primary School in Boronia headline the teams involved in the competition, as well as Thornbury Primary School, who are back to their 2nd Victorian State Final. 
What’s also impressive about this Primary State Final is Williamstown North Primary School, who will have players from their Bowls team fly back from School Camp in Canberra for Wednesday’s event!
The Primary competition will begin at 10:30am at Darebin City Bowling Club on Wednesday 2nd of May. For more information, please see the SSV website: Primary School Championships
Congratulations to the Primary Schools that have qualified!
Thornbury Primary School (Northern Metro Melbourne)
Cowes Primary School (Gippsland Region)
Wattleview Primary School (Eastern Metro Melbourne)
Our Lady Help of Christians Primary School (Greater Western Region)
Sorrento Primary School (Southern Metro Melbourne)
Kyabram P-12 Primary School (Loddon Mallee Region)
Rutherglen Primary School (Hume Region)
Williamstown North Primary School (Western Metro Melbourne)
In our Secondary School Competition, eight teams will also play off for the State Championship.
The Secondary Competition will involve three pool games, followed by a semi-final and then the final at 3:15pm. Play will begin at 9:30am at Darebin City Bowls Club on Wednesday 2nd of May.
For more information, please visit the School Sport Victoria website here: Secondary School Championships
Congratulations & Good luck to the following schools who have qualified for the Secondary State Final:
Rushworth P-12 College (Hume Region)
Rosebud Secondary College (Southern Metro Melbourne)
Maribyrnong College (Western Metro Melbourne)
Kew High School (Eastern Metro Melbourne)
Cobden Technical School (Greater Western Region)
Kyabram P-12 College (Loddon Mallee Region)
Wonthaggi Secondary College (Gippsland Region)
Fitzroy High School (Northern Metro Melbourne)
Thank you to all Bowls Clubs who have helped out our School Sport Victoria Program this year!
If your club would like to get involved with schools, please contact Sean O’Kane on 9861-7109 or e-mail: