2018 Taylor Bowls Premier Division Grand Final

by Team BV

Altona has claimed its seventh Taylor Bowls Premier Division flag for Saturday Metro Pennant, beating defending champions Melbourne 86-58 at Deer Park Dome.
The As took control around the 10 end mark of the scheduled 84, and ran out comfortable winners – taking out all four rinks.
State players Dane McKinnon and Nathan Wilson scored important wins over fellow Victorian reps Shane Fordham and Bryce Young respectively.
But the biggest winners of the day for Altona were Brad Peck’s rink, running out 11-shot winners over another State player in Matty Ellul.
Even in defeat, perhaps Melbourne provided one of the most memorable moments of the grand final. With the game lost, the Dees subbed in one of their stalwarts Chris “Bear” O’Meagher – who is battling health issues – for the final two bowls of the match.
Dane McKinnon (Altona) d Shane Fordham (Melbourne) 18-14
Nathan Wilson (Altona) d Bryce Young (Melbourne) 24-15
Brett Foley (Altona) d Scott Mortimer (Melbourne) 20-16
Brad Peck (Altona) d Matty Ellul (Melbourne) 24-13
Altona d Melbourne 86-58
Winning Altona team
Mick O’Neill, Shane Herring, Brendan Barker, Dane McKinnon (s)
Lenny Callus, Rob Panton, Michael Vesikko, Nathan Wilson (s)
Colin Davis, Deon Warnecke, Ben Loughlin, Brett Foley (s)
Reed Chanter, Carl Millen, Liam Garlick-Adams, Brad Peck (s)
Watch the final hour of the match here