Victoria teams to play SA

by Team BV

Former NSW and Australian representative Sam Shannahan has been given an immediate call-up for the Victorian women’s team for its upcoming Test series against South Australia in Adelaide. 

Shannahan, a Victorian who left for NSW several years ago but has now returned to play for Melton, has been named as one of the skips in the side to play South Australia at Salisbury from February 28 to March 2. 

She replaces unavailable Vic Open and recent national champion, and 2017 triple State champion Kylie Whitehead in the only change to the Victorian team which bossed Tasmania in its December Test series. 

Tiffany Brodie (Clayton) and Commonwealth Games squad member Carla Krizanic (Sunbury) are the other skips. 

In the men’s squad, Glenroy’s John McCarron, who filled in for Victoria in its narrow series loss to Tasmania in December, earns a starting call-up as second for Dylan Fisher. 

Fisher (Clayton) and Commonwealth Games medallists Matt Flapper (Ocean Grove) and Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country Club) are the men’s skips. 


Senior Women:

Blaine Edwards
Helen Clough
(Bendigo East)

Anne Miles

Carla Krizanic (s)

Tristania Doolan
Nicole Shortis
Makayla Gibson
(Bundoora RSL)

Sam Shannahan (s)

Elise Cowan
Courtney Gabb
Anne Draffen
Tiffany Brodie (s)

Edith Grinham
Judy Davey

Senior Men:

Curtis Hanley
Ben Loughlin
Dane McKinnon
Matthew Flapper (s)
(Ocean Grove)

Josh Corless
(Bundoora RSL)
Bryce Young
Shane Fordham
Barrie Lester (s)
(Mulgrave CC)

Brett Mahoney
(Deer Park)
John McCarron
Nathan Wilson
Dylan Fisher (s)

Pat Clark

Ian Ewing