Victoria v Tasmania Test teams

by Team BV

Taylor Bowls Premier Division champions Melbourne have been rewarded with four of their players selected in Victoria’s men’s team for the Test series against Tasmania in December at Deer Park BC. 

Shane Fordham and Scott Mortimer join Melbourne’s regular Victorian reps Curtis Hanley and Bryce Young in the team for the Test series from December 6 to 8. 

It’s just reward for the Demons’ flying start in their title defence – four from four to start the 2017-18 season in Saturday Metro Pennant’s top division. 

Mortimer is also among the leading skips in the competition early doors, but will lead for Dylan Fisher in this series. 

Fisher (Clayton), 2016 Vic Open champion Matthew Flapper (Ocean Grove) and last season’s Australian No.1 bowler Barrie Lester (Mulgrave Country Club) are the other men’s skips. 

Altona also have three players in the men’s squad – Dane McKinnon, Ben Loughlin and new recruit Nathan Wilson.

The women’s squad features dual world champion Carla Krizanic (Sunbury), Australian development squad member Tiffany Brodie (Clayton) and reigning Vic Open Vic Medallist Anne Miles as skips. 

There are call-ups for Helen Clough (Bendigo East), Anne Draffen (Webbcona) and Courtney Gabb from newly promoted Premier Division side Lilydale, and Tristania Doolan (MCC), who plays alongside her State champion women’s triples teammate Makayla Gibson (Bundoora RSL) in Krizanic’s four. 

Three-time reigning State champion Kylie Whitehead (Wodonga) has also been named in the team.

Victorian teams