2017 National Bowling Arm Sides Championship

by Team BV

There were several nervous moments, but Victoria has secured its fifth successive National Bowling Arm Sides Championship – taking out the 2017 title on home ground at Moama Bowling Club. 

The quirks of the event format and accumulated scoring system meant the Vics were not able to secure victory until their final match. 

New South Wales led the championship for most of days two and three.

But NSW had a bye was in the last match of the tournament. Going into that, Victoria trailed them by just one point in a scoring system judged on rink wins, with two points for a win and one for a draw.

All the Armed Vics needed was one victory on the six rinks in play in the final round against South Australia. 

That came by virtue of Koroit bowler Neil Crisp’s 21-11 singles victory to give the Armed Vics another title to add to their 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 championships.

The Vics also managed two more singles wins against SA. 

Earlier on Day 3, the Vics had managed an 8-4 points win over NSW to chop back the deficit, and picked up more valuable rink wins against Queensland. 


Victoria posted strong victories over WA, Queensland and SA through a busy Day 2 of the championship after a mixed start to Day 1.
NSW finished runners-up.
The Victorian team was presented with its medals at a gala dinner at Moama Bowling Club’s The Venue immediately after the final day’s play.
The 2018 National Bowling Arm Championships will be hosted by NSW at East Maitland Bowling Club.
The winning Victorian side for 2017 was:


Barry Anset (Bendigo) 

Ray Arnold (Mentone) 

Stephen Coles (North Balwyn) 

Neil Crisp (Koroit) 

Graham Edwards (Kerang) 

Mal Finch (Golden Square)  

Phil Godkin (Eaglehawk) 

Peter Gribbin (Pakenham) 

Phil Gude (Dromana) 

John Lewis (Lakes Entrance) 

Tony Long (St Leonards) 

Stephen Mitchell (Koroit) 

Kerry Ralph (Barooga) 

Chris Randell (Bendigo East) 

Michael Rose (Lilydale) 

Adele Ryan (Ocean Grove) 

Lee Wesley (Burwood) 


Manager: Graeme Bridge

Final results

Program and fixture