2017 Australian Blind Bowls Championships

by Team BV

Victoria has won three gold medals – and eight medals overall – at the 2017 Australian Blind Bowls Championships at the Gold Coast.
Led by Commonwealth Games hopeful Ralph Simpson of Sea Lake, the Victorian team came second overall behind the host state at the titles held at Coolangatta Bowls Club.
Simpson was involved in all three gold medal wins, and also picked up the awards for the tournament’s best male bowler and best overall bowler.
He won the B2 men’s singles, teamed with Lisa Condy (Lake Boga) to win the B2 mixed pairs, and Ivan Shortis (Wangaratta) for gold in the B2 men’s pairs.
Condy won silver in two women’s events – the singles and pairs with Narre Warren’s Mary Price.

Victorian winners were:
Ralph Simpson (Sea Lake)
3 Gold medals, best male and best overall bowler.

B2 men’s singles, B2 men’s pairs, B2 mixed pairs
Lisa Condy (Lake Boga)
1 Gold and 2 Silver medals.
Silver – B2 ladies singles
Silver – B2 ladies pairs
Gold – B2 mixed pairs
Ivan Shortis (Wangaratta)
Gold – B2 men’s pairs
Mike Donnelly (Mooroopna Golf)
2 Silver medals
B4 men’s singles, B4 men’s pairs
Mary Price (Narre Warren)
Silver – B2 ladies pairs.
Peter Campion (Cranbourne RSL)
Silver – B4 men’s pairs
Len O’Brien (Narre Warren) 
Bronze – B3 mixed pairs
Greg Kennedy (Mooroolbark BC)
Overall Encouragement Award