2017 Armed Vics team named

by Team BV

Victoria has named six new faces for the State Bowlers Arm side which will defend its national title at Moama in September.

The Armed Vics team was named following a two-day trial series run at MCC Glen Street on synthetic and grass surfaces similar to the surfaces for Moama BC where this year’s National Bowlers Arm Championship will be run from September 11 to 13. 

Thirty-five players were invited to trial following a review of the performances at the State’s first Arm Titles, Arm events and selector input. This became 27 with withdrawals and the competition was red hot.

Bowls Victoria Chief Executive and team selector Graeme Bridge said: “There were some amazing standout efforts and overall the standard has again moved forward to a new level. 

“I have no doubt this group will acquit themselves very well next September at the nationals – this year hosted by Bowls Victoria.” 

Graham Edwards (Kerang), John Lewis (Lakes Entrance), Stephen Mitchell (Koroit), Kerry Ralph (Barooga), Chris Randell (Bendigo East) and Michael Rose (Lilydale) have all been called up to represent the Armed Vics for the first time.
Bowls Victoria Arm Bowling Coordinator Phil Gude said: “This year’s side has a very wide spread from Warrnambool in the west to Sale in the east, St James in the upper Murray, Ocean Grove to Swan Hill and metropolitan Melbourne. 

“This selection was probably the most challenging selection ever faced given the high standard and fact that the side has won the past four national championships. 

“The arm side has been most fortunate to have Graeme Bridge’s expertise in selection as he has upped the performance requirements by utilising State side performance marking criteria where every bowl is assessed. 

“Add the fact that this is a very proud group determined to keep improving year on year and competition was very hot indeed.” 

This year’s nationals will have all mainland States on board for the first time with Western Australia’s entry.

Mr Gude said his next goal was getting Tasmania on board before retiring from this role. 


Victorian team

Barry Anset (Bendigo) 

Ray Arnold (Mentone) 

Stephen Coles (North Balwyn) 

Neil Crisp (Koroit) 

Graham Edwards (Kerang) 

Mal Finch (Golden Square)  

Phil Godkin (Eaglehawk) 

Peter Gribbin (Pakenham) 

Phil Gude (Dromana) 

John Lewis (Lakes Entrance) 

Tony Long (St Leonards) 

Stephen Mitchell (Koroit) 

Kerry Ralph (Barooga) 

Chris Randell (Bendigo East) 

Michael Rose (Lilydale) 

Adele Ryan (Ocean Grove) 

Lee Wesley (Burwood) 


Manager: Graeme Bridge