Victoria teams for 2017 National Sides

by Team BV

Victoria has put its faith in form, selecting the bulk of the teams that beat South Australia recently to represent the State at the 2017 National Sides Championships in April.

Victoria will send an unchanged women’s 12 to the Nationals at Lockleys Bowling Club in Adelaide from April 6 to 9 from the team which swept South Australia 5-0 in their Test series at Ocean Grove in February.
It’s also the vast majority of the team which beat star-studded NSW in the series in Merimbula in early February – the Vics arguably entering the Nationals in the best form currently of any State women’s side.
Coach Jan Hurst and selectors would have been buoyed with the performances of their team throughout the South Australian series, with teenager Tiffany Brodie retained as one of the skips alongside Australian rep Carla Krizanic and experienced Brooke Edwards.
The men’s selectors were forced to make at least one change to accommodate Australian and Victorian Open champion Nathan Wilson’s return after he missed the SA series.
Bryce Young (Melbourne) makes way for Wilson in the only change to the Victorian men’s side which beat South Australia 3-2.
Matthew Flapper, Barrie Lester and Aaron Wilson will be the men’s skips.
Victoria are the defending men’s National Sides champions, winning the Alley Shield for the first time in 14 years last year in Queanbeyan.
National Sides Championships fixtures, via Bowls Australia
National Sides Championships results, via Bowls Australia
National Sides Championships ladders, via Bowls Australia

Victorian Women’s National Sides Team

Blaine Edwards
Rebecca McMahon
Anne Miles
Carla Krizanic (s)

Elise Cowan
Mikayla Gibson
Nicole Shortis
Tiffany Brodie (s)

Kylie Whitehead
Tayla Morison
Gayle Edwards
Brooke Edwards (s)

Jan Hurst
Edith Grinham

Victorian Men’s National Sides Team

Curtis Hanley
Ben Loughlin
Dane McKinnon
Matthew Flapper (s)

Josh Corless
Dale Jones
Nick McIntyre
Barrie Lester (s)

Liam Garlick-Adams
Nathan Wilson
Brett Spurr
Aaron Wilson (s)

Ian Ewing
Pat Clark