Victoria v NSW Test teams

by Team BV

UPDATED – New South Wales have held nothing back, naming three new world champions and a host of Australian squad members in their teams to take on Victoria in the 2017 Test series at Merimbula in February.
NSW have included recent World Championship gold medallists Karen Murphy, Natasha Scott and Kelsey Cottrell in the women’s senior team for the series on February 7 and 8.
World Bowls silver and bronze medallist Aron Sherriff heads the NSW men’s team, with current Jackaroo Ray Pearse also included.
New Australian squad member Corey Wedlock has been named in the NSW Under 25 team for the Test series.
Tests will be played for both senior men and women, as well as under 25 men and women.
Victoria welcomes back world champion Aaron Wilson to the State team fold for the NSW series.
Wilson (Clayton) returns to the senior men’s team after his world championship men’s pairs win in Christchurch in December, and will skip along with Nick McIntyre (Whittlesea) and Wayne Roberts (Yarraville-Footscray).
Without Matthew Flapper, Barrie Lester and Brad Orr, State men’s selectors have called up Sale’s Matthew Higgins – runner-up in the 2016 State men’s singles title – and Yarraville-Footscray’s Chris Ball.
The women’s team will be without dual world champion Carla Krizanic, but welcome back her Sunbury clubmate Elise Cowan. Victorian Open runner-up Anne Miles has also been called up to the side.
Victoria will be looking for revenge after losing both senior men’s and women’s series to NSW last year at Mulgrave Country Club.
Victoria has also named strong Under 25 teams, with State Under 25 men’s finalists Jack Woodhouse and Nathan Lynch both included after winning through the recent sectionals for the State championships. 

Victoria, Senior Men:

Josh Corless
(Bundoora RSL)
Matthew Higgins
Bryce Young
Aaron Wilson (s)

Curtis Hanley
Ben Loughlin
Dane McKinnon
Nick McIntyre (s)

Liam Garlick-Adams
Chris Ball
(Yarraville Footscray)
Nathan Wilson
Wayne Roberts( s)
(Yarraville Footscray)

Ian Ewing
Pat Clark

Paul Dorgan


NSW Senior Men

Jesse Noronha (Warilla); Mathew Pietersen (St Johns Park); Aaron Teys (Warilla); Wayne Turley (Taren Point, s)

Carl Healey (Cabramatta); Chris Herden (St Johns Park); Ben Twist (St Johns Park); David Ferguson (Wagga Rules, s)
Ray Pearse (Cabramatta); Lee Trethowan (Ettalong Memorial); Nathan Wise (St Johns Park); Aron Sherriff (Ettalong Memorial, s)


Men’s Under 25

Brad Foote – Mentone
Nathan Lynch – Moonee Valley
Dean O’Neil – MCC
Jack Woodhouse – Bundoora RSL
Jordan Yates – Essendon
Todd Trewarne – Melbourne


Haydn Bojkowski (Raymond Terrace)
Ben Glasson (Mount Lewis)
Billy Johnson (Cabramatta)
Mason Lewis (Engadine)
Harley McDonald (Warilla)
Corey Wedlock (Cabramatta)


Victoria, Senior Women:

Elise Cowan
Rebecca McMahon
(City Colac)
Mikayla Gibson
(Bundoora RSL)
Tiffany Brodie (s)
(Fitzroy Victoria)

Victoria Troster
(Yarraville Footscray)
Tayla Spence
(Bundoora RSL)
Gayle Edwards
Brooke Edwards (s)

Blaine Edwards
Tayla Morison
Anne Miles
(Yarrawonga Mulwala)
Nicole Shortis (s)
(Leopold Sportsman’s)

Jan Hurst


Judy Davey

NSW Senior Women
Sarah Boddington (Tuncurry Beach); Kay Moran (Cabramatta); Beth Quinlan (St Johns Park); Karen Murphy (Cabramatta, s)
Anne Johns (St Johns Park); Ellen Ryan (Cabramatta); Samantha Shannahan (Merrylands); Kelsey Cottrell (St Johns Park, s)
Jamie-Lee Worsnop (St Johns Park); Claire Turley (Cabramatta); Dawn Hayman (St Johns Park); Natasha Scott (Raymond Terrace, s)

Women’s Under 25
Amelia Bruggy – Bendigo
Stephanie Priest – Bendigo
Elisa Rigoni – Sunbury
Mikayla Long – Sunbury
Natasha Russell – Clayton
Kristen Steele – Melbourne
Maddison Fennell (Cabramatta)
Madeline Goncalves (Warilla)
Jodie Marshall (Goulburn)
Natalie Noronha (Engadine)
Samantha Noronha (Engadine)
Molly Wilton (Cabramatta)