2017 Ted King Memorial Tournament

by Team BV

Forty of the best junior bowlers from around Victoria dealt admirably with hot and humid conditions in the 10th annual Ted King Memorial Tournament held at Tocumwal Bowls Club in January.

The tournament consists of teams of 4, playing all disciplines (fours, triples, pairs and singles) for accumulated points over two days.

This year, the Bowls Victoria Under 18 committee entered three representative teams from the Under 18 state squad to further their competition experience.

The tournament offers $2000 in prize money, the highest offered for any junior event under the Bowls Victoria banner.

There is also a perpetual shield and a prize for ‘personality of the tournament’ – being an encouragement award for outstanding display of etiquette, sportsmanship and teamwork. That went to nine-year-old Cooper Hicks.

The junior bowlers present are a credit to the sport, being well behaved, respectful and well organised. The standard of bowling was also very high, making for great competition, with five teams still eligible for the win going in to the final game.

The tournament ran smoothly with all juniors and parents thoroughly enjoying their experience in the area.

Justine Stokes (organizer) and the Murray Kraze squad would like to thank Moama Bowling Club for their ongoing generous sponsorship of the prizemoney, and Tocumwal Golf and Bowls club for the use of their outstanding facilities and support in organizing the event. Thanks also to all the volunteers who help make the weekend run smoothly.

Best game winners:
Saturday Pairs              Cooper Westcombe and Lauchlin Davies
Sunday Pairs                 Patrick Lewis and Sarah Ashby
Saturday Singles           Jarryd Davies
Sunday Singles             Connor Trewren
Saturday Triples           Max Rowley, Aaron Evans and Harley Taylor-Irwin
Sunday Triples              Ty King, Emilee Davies and Cooper Hicks
Saturday Fours             Cooper Westcombe, Blake Andrews, Lauchlin Davies, Jack Thompson
Sunday Fours                Adam Morley, Desi O’Kane, Tyson Cromie, Connor Trewren
Personality Award        Cooper Hicks
Overall runners-up        Amelia Bruggy, Curtis Hanley, Steve Schwarzer, Riley Hodgson
Overall winners            Ben Ryan, Grant McLaren, Ethan Higgins, Rylie Boxshall