New President for Bowls Victoria

by Team BV

Bowls Victoria has a new President, with Barbara Gilbert (Ocean Grove BC) appointed to the role for the next two years.

Barbara, the tournament director for Bowls Victoria’s State events including the Victorian Open, was elected at a board meeting following the 2016 Annual General Meeting at Hawthorn Town Hall.
Barbara steps up from the Deputy President’s role she has held for the past two years.
John Inglese (Richmond Union BC) has been elected Deputy President of Bowls Victoria.
Outgoing President John Fisher OAM (Rutherglen BC) will remain on the Bowls Victoria board as a Director. He has been a Director since Bowls Victoria’s inauguration in 2009, and will continue in this capacity.
In being confirmed as Bowls Victoria’s new president, Barbara wished to highlight the contribution that John Fisher had made to Bowls Victoria during his term of presidency.
Scot Nicholson (Ballan BC) has been newly elected to the Board following the recent elections.
Lyn Baker, Kevin Pattison, Marilla Rootsey, Valerie Savage and Finance Director Ken Warburton are the other Board directors.
More than 100 people attended the 2016 AGM, with world champion Victorian bowlers Josh Barry and Lucas Protopapas special guest speakers.
Retiring Bowls Victoria board members Phil Gude and Stuart Kollmorgen were honoured for their service on the board with a special presentation during the AGM.
Bowls Victoria also presented the 15 Volunteer of the Year Regional Winners with their awards, as well as naming Owen Ross (Grangeburn BC/West Coast Region) overall winner.
Bowls Victoria’s 2015-16 Annual Report was presented at the AGM. You’ll find Bowls Victoria’s 2015-16 annual report here