2016 Boroondara Cup

by Team BV

The Boroondara Bowls Competition is an annual pre-season event played between the eight lawn bowls clubs in the City of Boroondara – Ashburton, Auburn, Burwood District, Camberwell Central, Hawthorn, MCC, MCC Kew Sports, North Balwyn).
Although nominally a friendly event, it has started to take on a more competitive air as the traditional rivalries between the clubs exert themselves.
The format of the event, is two parallel round robin tournaments with each club playing the seven other clubs in both fours and triples. 
The event is hosted by a different club each year. 
This year the event is to be hosted by Camberwell Central BC on Sunday, September 18.
The trophy (a lawn bowl mounted on a plinth) is presented by the Mayor of Boroondara City post-match and is retained by the winning club for the ensuing 12 months.
The names of the players in the winning team are engraved on the trophy.
In 2014 Camberwell Central won the event, and in 2015 Camberwell and Auburn placed a close equal second behind Burwood District.
The event is an opportunity to showcase lawn bowls, and in particular the eight clubs in the City of Boroondara.
Members of all clubs and the general public are invited to attend.

When:                         Sunday, September 18
Venue:                        Camberwell Central Bowls Club
Address                      14 Bowen Street Camberwell (ample on-street parking)
Timings                       09:30 – play commences
                                    12:50 – Lunch break
                                    1:30 – afternoon session commences
                                    4:20 – Presentation
            Bar and Sausage Sizzle will operate from early till late.
For More Info:           Phone:  CCBC (03) 9889 4456 / Bowls Director 0417824155