Victoria ready for Australian Sides Championships

by Team BV

Victoria is aiming to end a 12-year winning drought when the 2016 Australian Sides Championships gets underway in the Australian Capital Territory on Thursday, March 31.

Victoria’s women last won the Marj Morris Trophy for Australia’s best State team in 2004, while the men’s last win in the Alley Shield for the champion State was in 2002.

Queanbeyan Bowls Club and Queanbeyan RSL Memorial Bowls Club will be the venues for this year’s Australian Sides Championships, to be staged until Sunday, April 3.
All eight state and territories will compete, with the exception of the Northern Territory’s women’s team, across the two venues.
It will also be a critical selection trial for the Australian team to compete in the World Championships in Christchurch later this year.
Victorian teams
Bowls Australia event guide
Full Bowls Australia preview story