Victorian teams for Australian Sides Championships

by Team BV

Victoria’s selectors have turned to experience for the upcoming Australian Sides Championships in the ACT, with Wayne Roberts and Judy Davey returning to Vic duty for the national showdown.
Selectors have named the teams for the event, to be held from March 31 to April 3, in Queanbeyan.
And they’ve included Roberts, the 2015 Victorian Open runner-up, who has been in deadly form throughout the Metropolitan Pennant season and is currently the No.2 ranked skip in the Taylor Bowls Premier Division.
The Yarraville-Footscray bowler returns to a strong men’s outfit which also includes current Australian player Barrie Lester, past Australian Open winners Nathan and Aaron Wilson, Commonwealth Games hero Matthew Flapper, and world under 25 champion Dylan Fisher.
The women’s team has had several changes from those which have been recently defeated by NSW and South Australia.
While Australian representatives Carla Krizanic (nee Odgers) and Chloe Stewart are predictably included, and Victorian Open runner-up Lisa Phillips returns to skip duties after missing the South Australia series, the recall of Glenroy’s Davey is the eye-catcher.
Davey had retired from interstate competition, and hasn’t featured in an interstate Test so far this season.
But her decision to reconsider interstate retirement has prompted an immediate recall.
Teenagers Tayla Morison (Melbourne BC) and Tiffany Brodie (Fitzroy Victoria) retain their spots from recent Test matches to earn a tilt at matching their talents against Australia’s best bowlers.
The teams are:

Victorian Women’s Australian Sides Team

Tayla Morison
Judy Davey
Brooke Edwards
Lisa Phillips (s)

Kylie Whitehead
Rebecca McMahon
Nicole Shortis
Carla Krizanic (s)

Tiffany Brodie
Elise Cowan
Gayle Edwards
Chloe Stewart (s)

Jan Hurst
Edith Grinham

Victorian Men’s Australian Sides Team

Liam Garlick-Adams
Nathan Wilson
Brett Spurr
Aaron Wilson (s)

Josh Corless
Dale Jones
Nick McIntyre
Barrie Lester (s)

Brad Orr
Wayne Roberts
Dylan Fisher
Matthew Flapper (s)

Ian Ewing
Pat Clark