Vics recognised at Bowls Australia awards

by Team BV

Four Victorians – star bowler Matthew Flapper, official Bob Carlson, former Bowls Australia and world bowls president Betty Collins and the late Don Woolnough – have been recognised at the 2015 Bowls Australia Hall of Fame and awards night at the Gold Coast.
Flapper (Ocean Grove) was crowned International Bowler of the Year for 2014-15 following his Commonwealth Games and Trans-Tasman heroics during the voting period.

Flapper skipped the Games triples and fours, and led by example on and off the paddock.

He recently announced his retirement from international competition – and his award was a fitting swansong to a great international career.
Bob Carlson, a member of Bowls Victoria’s Laws and Rules Committee and chairman of the Northern Gateway Regional Umpiring Committee, was a deserving winner of the Official of the Year award for his wholehearted commitment and service to bowls at Victorian, national and international level.
Betty Collins OAM, a Bowls Victoria life member and already a Bowls Australia Hall of Famer, was awarded life membership of Bowls Australia at the function for her extraordinary service to the sport.
Don Woolnough OAM, another Bowls Victoria life member, was inducted into the Hall of Fame posthumously for his service to the sport as a player for State and county, and as a long-time RVBA councillor, delegate and state selector, in addition to being a national selector, umpire and coach. Mr Woolnough died in 2003.

Click here for further information on the Victorian winners, and full coverage of the glittering Bowls Australia awards night